Indian Elections 2014: 9 phase Lok Sabha elections to start from April 7

Eurasia News

NEW DELHI: The Indian Chief Election Commissioner has announced that Lok Sabha elections will be held in nine phases starting from April 7 and will continue till May 12.

“The first date of polls shall be on 7th April,” Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath told a press conference.

“The commission appeals to all stakeholders, and in particular the political parties and candidates, to uphold the fairness (and) democratic traditions by maintaining high standards of political discourse and fair play in the course of the campaign,” Sampath said.

The chief election commissioner said that a total of 814 million Indian voters will elect their representatives for Lok Sabha. He further said that a total of 930,000 polling stations will be set up across the country.

The tenure of the current Lok Sabha will expire on June 1.





Elections for Lok Sabha of India 2014

Indian General Elections 2014

General Elections 2014 in India